Home > About us

About us


The Division of Anatomical Pathology has both diagnostic and academic components.  The diagnostic laboratories form part of the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) complex at Groote Schuur and Red Cross War Memorial Children’s hospitals.  

The Diagnostic laboratories are at both sites and provide a diagnostic surgical pathology, cytopathology and autopsy services to GSH, the academic hospital complex and associated hospitals and clinics in the Western Cape.  The division also serves as a public and private tertiary referral and consultation centre for Anatomical Pathology.

These service commitments drive most of the research programmes that are patient and disease orientated.  The Division has recently acquired a research laboratory and had 3 PhD, 1 MSc, 17 MMed, 1 BSc Hon, 2 MPhil (Paediatric Pathology) and 1 Elective student during the reporting period.  The Division has been involved in a range of research activities using a variety of techniques and continues to broaden its research base.  The main research focus is in the field of molecular pathology pertaining to diseases that are common in South Africa and the Western Cape – these include various cancers, in particular those affecting disadvantaged population groups.  Other research areas include tuberculosis, cardiomyopathy and foetal-alcohol syndrome.  

The Division has been approached to provide support for Anatomical Pathology specialist training at the Universities of Botswana.

The Division successfully hosted a Placenta Pathology course in September 2014.  

Collaborative Research

The Division continues to establish collaborations with other Academic Pathology departments in Africa.   We have recently embarked on a joint breast cancer research project with the Aga Khan University in Nairobi.  We are exploring similar collaborations with the Pathology department at the Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences in Dar es Salaam.

There are internal collaborations with the departments of Surgery, Medicine, Cardiology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Radiation Oncology, Human Genetics and Medical Biochemistry. 


Dr N Wilkinson (United Kingdom)
Prof I Scheimberg (United Kingdom)
Prof C Wright (Port Elizabeth, RSA)
Dr N Morse (Cape Town)
Dr P Schubert (University of Stellenbosch)
Dr Benatar (United Kingdom)
Dr AA Atanda (Ibadan, Nigeria)
Mrs OJ Atanda (Ibadan, Nigeria